How The Vamps got together

Do you want to know how The Vamps got together? This morning James posted this blog on his tumblr:

The vampsband (7)

We’ve been spending a lot of time recently in various different studios writing and recording our original songs. In case you wondered, I thought I’d just say a little bit about how The Vamps got together. It’s honestly crazy thinking back to how things once were, and how they are now. I will take you back to when I was 15 years old firstly.

For those who don’t know, I used to be a solo artist/ musician. I wrote songs acoustically and performed them at any gigs I could get. Don’t get me wrong, I loved playing to any body who would listen, and have to say I’ve met some of the greatest people ever along that journey, however, I never really seemed to get to ‘the next level’; sure, I was happy and was able to play some pretty cool gigs, but I always thought that something was ‘missing’ musically in my life. Consequently, when I was approached by my manager after appearing in an indie musician magazine, ‘OurZone’, I was adamant to grasp any chance I had. Please don’t think that I automatically abandoned genuine passion for music and replaced it with a desire for fame as that wasn’t, and still isn’t true; I never wanted to be something ‘fake’, or someone who didn’t write their own music and like to think that I’m still a person who upholds that.
  
When I first found Bradley on youtube I was blown away- after much discussion with my management company we realised that if we wanted to have a good shot at getting anywhere in the industry, we needed to find a singer with absolute star quality. I remember sitting in a close friend’s house in October of 2011 and being blown away by the soul and passion being propelled from such a young and seemingly ‘cute’ individual; I knew at that moment that I HAD to make a band with Brad.

Bradley and I met up in late October/ early November for the first time and began writing our own material. I know it’s the biggest cliche ever but in all honesty me and Brad ‘clicked’ instantly- not only personally, but musically too. 

Finding Tristan was a HUGE coincidence if we’re all honest. I remember sitting on my laptop one evening when I had a new friend request on Facebook. I had no idea who this chap was, however, after exchanging about 3 messages with him, I once again knew that this guy, ‘Trisi Evans’, was our third member.

Since finding Tristan in early 2012 (February/ March), we’ve all grown bonds that are indescribable- it’s like we’re brothers and I know that’s yet again a massive cliche statement but it’s true!

If anyone wants me to carry on this story then let me know, and sorry for blabbing on if not! haha

Thanks SO MUCH…

James x 

 

Source: http://jamesmcvey.tumblr.com/ 

8 thoughts on “How The Vamps got together

  1. Wasn’t it weird just messaging Brad and saying do you want to be in a band together? I mean you didnt even know each other? Love you guys loadsss<3

  2. Does anyone know where they got together?
    Because I actually thought that with of them are living in different parts of the UK it had to be extremely complicated to rehearse, record the covers etc… when they started as a band… or did they somehow move in together? And if they did where?

Leave a Reply

